More Than Bread Devotional for 5/25/12

Luke 5:36 -39
He also told them a parable: “No one tears a patch from a new garment and puts it on an old garment. Otherwise, not only will he tear the new, but also the piece from the new garment will not match the old. And no one puts new wine into old wineskins. Otherwise, the new wine will burst the skins, it will spill, and the skins will be ruined. But new wine should be put into fresh wineskins. And no one, after drinking old wine, wants new, because he says, ‘The old is better.'”

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how God choses to make things new. It seems that often a destruction of the old must take place for the new to come forward. Our human minds see destruction, in all its pain and horror, as a bad thing overall. No one wants that pain. No person cries out to really be shattered with all that the shattering brings. But we want to be new.
I want to be new.
Tonight I have the realization that the shattering of my current life is the foundation of the new.
He is making me new.
He has chosen not to put His new work in the old skin.
So He is making me new.
Even in pieces at the moment I realize that it is a good thing. When the new wine comes the new me will hold.
Even in pieces He is making me new.

P.S.  Gina is writing again.  This is an all-new devotional post from her, it isn’t a classic rerun.  Please keep her in your prayers.

About ginabob

First and foremost I am a child of the King! I'm an admin assistant at my church and a graduate student working on my MDiv through Liberty online.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

