More Than Bread Devotional for 3/13/12

For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.
For day and night your hand was heavy upon me;
my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer. Selah

I acknowledged my sin to you,
and I did not cover my iniquity;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,”
and you forgave the iniquity of my sin.  – Psalm 32:3-5

The most dangerous sin is the one we think that no one knows about.  Hidden sin will never remain that way and David tells us that the experience of keeping it quiet does great harm to us.  It actually is more harmful than the confession.  Additionally, unconfessed sin will act as a barrier between us and God.  But when we confess these things (that He already knows about anyway), it brings forgiveness and lifts the weight that holds us down and saps our strength.  It is so much better than wasting away.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

