More Than Bread Devotional for 2/24/12

Job 27:1-5
And Job continued his discourse: “As surely as God lives, who has denied me justice, the Almighty, who has made me taste bitterness of soul, as long as I have life within me, the breath of God in my nostrils, my lips will not speak wickedness, and my tongue will utter no deceit. I will never admit you are in the right; till I die, I will not deny my integrity.

It’s a difficult situation that Job finds himself in. In his heart he knows that he has done nothing wrong. Yet he is having to defend himself against these “friends” of his who keep saying words of comfort like “Just admit all the stuff you obviously have done to deserve this punishment and you will be fine.” Gee… THANKS!! Some of us have had to defend out honor, or our name from the lies of the enemy. It’s a tough place to be in. The attitude to take it with is here in these verses. Even when good seems to bring you bad,and the wrong people keep getting the blessings you are desiring, do not deny your integrity. Hold to God even tighter. And here is something that I will struggle with but I think it’s the key. My lips will not speak wickedness, even to or about my “friends” or enemies who have slandered me.

About ginabob

First and foremost I am a child of the King! I'm an admin assistant at my church and a graduate student working on my MDiv through Liberty online.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

