More Than Bread Devotional for 2/15/12

1 When Israel was a child, I loved him,
and out of Egypt I called my son.
2 The more they were called,
the more they went away;
they kept sacrificing to the Baals
and burning offerings to idols.  3 Yet it was I who taught Ephraim to walk;
I took them up by their arms,
but they did not know that I healed them.  – Hosea 11:1-3

I am not sure that we have any way to understand all of the ways that God blesses us and takes care of us.  He doesn’t go around seeking credit for it and as this passage from Hosea shows, it is frequently done without our knowledge.  You may think that you know all the blessings of your life, but I can assure you that the blessings you are aware of likely pale in comparison to the blessings you have never even contemplated or possibly noticed.  The hymn reminds us to count our blessings and name them one by one.  I would remind you and myself that we don’t even know what all of those blessings are to count them all.  It really will surprise you what the Lord has done.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

