More Than Bread Devotional for 12/16/11

Psalm 56:4
In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid.
What can mortal man do to me?

In this world we’ve been promised that there will be trials and tribulations.  Things quite often do not go the way we plan.  People leave us.  People hurt us.  Sometimes people we love even.  The phrase “In God we trust” may seem cliche since it’s on our money (ha ha). But let’s invest some time in thinking about it.  In God I trust.  Notice the Bible doesn’t instruct us to “figure things out.”  It doesn’t instruct us to “fix all our problems ourselves.”  The Bible doesn’t call us to “take matters into our own hands.”  It says over and over again to leave your life up to the Author and Sustainer of your faith. I cannot count the number of times I have let my mis-trust for God take over.  I say that I trust Him but my actions shout otherwise.  Be aware that God may call you to act on things at times (notice I said call you to act)… and God does leave us to our own free will.  But in many cases the answer is “Do you trust me?”  And the answer is not in our words… but in our actions.

About ginabob

First and foremost I am a child of the King! I'm an admin assistant at my church and a graduate student working on my MDiv through Liberty online.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

