More Than Bread Devotional for 10/20/11

13But I, when they were sick—
I wore sackcloth;
I afflicted myself with fasting;
I prayed with head bowed on my chest.
14I went about as though I grieved for my friend or my brother;
as one who laments his mother,
I bowed down in mourning.   – Psalm 35:13-14

Jesus told us to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us.  The psalmist talked about the same thing.  Here is speaks of his concern for an enemy who had treated him badly and repaid him evil for the good he had done for them.  No one would ever suggest this is easy to do, but it is a marker to all who see it that God makes a difference in the way we live.  After all, anyone can love those who love them; a child of God finds a way to love those who hate, mistreat and despise them.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

