More Than Bread Devotional for 9/23/11

Daniel 3:17-18
If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and he will deliver us out of thine hand, O king. But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.

I have a new life’s motto.  “But If Not…”  Really it says it all.  These three guys in the furnace trusted God, literally, with the end of their lives.  They really believed that God could rescue them from the furnace.  BUT they knew enough about God to know that what is best for us (including life itself) is not always God’s best for us.  So what did these three guys say as they face death? “But IF not…”  God I still trust you even if this court case doesn’t go my way.  I still trust you if the person I love the most in this world is taken away from me.  I know that you can bring about miracles and you can take death itself away.  I believe you can do all of this . . . but if not . . . I trust You even still.

Gina

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

