More Than Bread Devotional for 8/23/11

1I will sing of steadfast love and justice;
to you, O LORD, I will make music.
2I will ponder the way that is blameless.
Oh when will you come to me?
I will walk with integrity of heart
within my house;
3I will not set before my eyes
anything that is worthless.
I hate the work of those who fall away;
it shall not cling to me.
4A perverse heart shall be far from me;
I will know nothing of evil.  – Psalm 101:1-4

Integrity is a word that doesn’t get used a whole lot in our society these days.  Integrity is a lot easier to maintain than it is to gain.  Building integrity takes a lot of work, but losing it takes only a moment.  The psalmist gives a couple of things that we can remember to help us in the fight for integrity as believers.  Ignore “worthless” things.  This is particularly hard for me at times.  There are so many things that compete for our attention and time and not all of them are worthwhile.  In another psalm we are encouraged to turn our eyes away from worthless things so that God will preserve us according to His Word.  The Word of God is the exact opposite of worthless.  It is priceless and valuable beyond worth.  Turn your eyes to His Word and integrity is sure to follow.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

