More Than Bread Devotional for 7/22/11

1 John 4:15-18
If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he in God. And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

It’s becoming more and more clear to me that I am not perfect. I know… I know. It was quite a shock to me to. : ) Since I mess up on a daily basis I am very interested in what God has to say about forgiveness, grace, and punishment. He has a lot to say actually! Fear still creeps into my life. I suspect it always will. But you know it doesn’t come in as easily when I am spending time with God. What drives me away from God? I guess it’s like Adam and Eve when they sin. Sin drives us away from God, and the things of God, because of shame and fear. If you’re His child He doesn’t want you to run and try to hide from Him. He asks us to repent and them move on. Don’t let your past sins (even those from this morning) eat you up with fear and shame. Ask for forgiveness. Receive it. Then live in the grace that God so abundantly provides.

About ginabob

First and foremost I am a child of the King! I'm an admin assistant at my church and a graduate student working on my MDiv through Liberty online.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

