More Than Bread Devotional for 7/13/11

Acts 20:22-24
22 “And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there. 23 I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me. 24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

One of the most important things in life is a sense of perspective. When God calls us to live as a believer, He doesn’t promise us that things will always be the way we want them to be. He doesn’t promise that things will always be easy or comfortable. He does promise to be with us every step of the way. Here, Paul is heading to Jerusalem knowing that prison and hardship was certain. But his desire to follow God was so strong, and his trust in God was so sure, that he couldn’t imagine trying to do anything else.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

