More Than Bread Devotional for 7/12/11

19And he said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.”- Matthew 4:19

I was struck by something when I read this.  It might not be the most obvious point to get, but stay with me here.  Jesus didn’t tend to over complicate things much.  His call to His disciples was painfully simple, “Follow me.”  His commandments aren’t really rocket science type stuff either.  In fact, some of them are so simple to understand, we kind of wish that we didn’t understand them just so we wouldn’t have to do them.  Love your enemies and stuff like that tend to get a “what were we talking about” diversion instead of simple obedience.  Jesus promised that His yoke is easy.  I get the feeling that we are the ones who make it harder by trying to complicate things a little too much.  Maybe it is just time to follow Him.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

