More Than Bread Devotional for 5/16/11

1In you, O LORD, do I take refuge;
let me never be put to shame;
in your righteousness deliver me!
2Incline your ear to me;
rescue me speedily!
Be a rock of refuge for me,
a strong fortress to save me!

3For you are my rock and my fortress;
and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me;
4you take me out of the net they have hidden for me,
for you are my refuge.
5Into your hand I commit my spirit;
you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.  – Psalm 31:1-5

I don’t know how often I stop to ponder this really, but every time I do, it leaves me in awe.  Much of what Jesus is recorded as saying on the cross as He died comes directly from the words of Scripture in some form.  Here in verse five is an allusion to his last words before declaring it was finished.  He committed His spirit to the Father knowing that it would be raised to new life as redemption for us also.  In a time of greatest pain, agony and struggle, the words that came from our Master’s lips were the Words of God given to us in Scripture.  I think it speaks something to us that reminds us that in our greatest trials, our surest strength and hope comes from His Word.  May the words of your lips be the Words of our Father and of His Son in all that you face today.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

