More Than Bread Devotional for 4/14/11

For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him will the Son of Man also be ashamed when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”  – Mark 8:38

Most of the time when I hear people reference this verse it is all about proclaiming the name of Jesus with our lips, but I want to give you a little more to think about here.  When we proclaim Jesus with our lips but our lives don’t back up our words, it is also a form of “being ashamed” of His words.  I would say that in our day and age it is far more likely that you will run into people who will boldly say the name of Jesus but who are still timid about living the words of Jesus.  Which is more likely to bring shame in the midst of our adulterous and sinful generation?

We are rarely brought shame by words as much as we are by actions.  Perhaps this helps to explain what Jesus says in John 14:21, “Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.”  Let us be unashamed to live what we say we believe.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread, more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

