More Than Bread Devotional for 4/5/11

1I cry aloud to God,
aloud to God, and he will hear me.
2 In the day of my trouble I seek the Lord;
in the night my hand is stretched out without wearying;
my soul refuses to be comforted.
3When I remember God, I moan;
when I meditate, my spirit faints.    Selah
4You hold my eyelids open;
I am so troubled that I cannot speak.
5I consider the days of old,
the years long ago.
6I said, “Let me remember my song in the night;
let me meditate in my heart.”
Then my spirit made a diligent search  – Psalm 77:1-6

I am sure we all know what it is like to have a sleepless night.  If you didn’t, then the psalmist sure does do a good job of describing what it is like most of the time.  Wearying with eyelids “held open” the psalmist decides to consider the days of old, days when God was at work in his life and had given him a song in the night.  He goes on to talk about the majesty of God and the mighty works that God has done as the psalm continues.  I would invite you to read the whole thing, as I have only included the first part here.

I am not suggesting by the way, that recounting what God has done will put you to sleep or solve all sleeplessness; but I can make this promise to you.  Remembering what God has done for you in the past will be a whole lot better than dwelling on whatever it is that is keeping you awake, and is bound to be a lot more interesting as well.  May God bless you with His peace in the day and the night.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

