More Than Bread Devotional for 3/23/11

11“But my people did not listen to my voice;
Israel would not submit to me.
12So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts,
to follow their own counsels.
13 Oh, that my people would listen to me,
that Israel would walk in my ways!  – Psalm 81:11-13

It isn’t talked about much, but God is not one to drag us kicking and screaming against our will to follow Him.  He speaks and we either obey and follow or choose our own “wisdom” and take our own path.  The former way is truly wise, while the latter is often suspect and leads to trouble most of the time.  As the passage here alludes to, it is usually a result of stubbornness on our part.  I don’t know about you, but the times I have been stubborn in the past are times I usually look back to with some measure of regret.  Let us choose this day to instead listen to the voice of Truth, the voice of God our Creator, and to walk in His ways.

 

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

