More Than Bread Devotional for 3/9/11

5For you, O Lord, are my hope,
my trust, O LORD, from my youth.
6Upon you I have leaned from before my birth;
you are he who took me from my mother’s womb.
My praise is continually of you.   – Psalm 71:5-6

I am going to take a day to share something a little more personal than usual, because today is a special day for me.  On this day, twelve years ago, Amelia and I welcomed our first child into the world.  He was a miracle to us from the day he was born, and we have learned since that his health and even his survival of that slightly premature birth were more of a miracle than we even knew at the time.  Still that pales in comparison for me to the miracle of watching this young man grow day by day in his trust in the Lord.  I saw these verses, and I thought of my boy.  Maybe you feel like you have missed out because you didn’t know the Lord from your youth or maybe you feel guilt for straying at some point along the way.  Yet, no matter your course as you lean to the Lord’s understanding and ways; it is a lifelong pursuit and process.  Whether you realized it or not, God has been calling to you.  He knew you before you were born.  May we praise Him continually for His mighty love toward us.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Than Bread Devotional for 3/9/11

Leave a Reply

