More Than Bread Devotional for 2/28/11

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  -Matthew 6: 34

I think there is something in all of us that is prone to worry.  Some of it is BIG worry and some of it is small stuff, but worry seems fairly common to the human condition.  I was thinking more about this yesterday as we returned from Fargo.  I had heard a message about worry that morning and it really spoke to me, but just a few miles north of Fargo, the road felt a little squirrelly(I think it was more the wind doing it) and memories of our little mishap/adventure that sent us into the median a few weeks back came flooding to mind.  I found myself tensing up and worrying about whether we would leave the road again.  I could even justify it in this case in my mind because it wasn’t worrying about tomorrow, it was worrying about the right then and there.

But here is the other thought that came to mind.  While it is important to keep alert and to use those “heightened senses” to my best advantage, there is nothing that a single bit of worrying can do to keep me out of trouble that is beyond my control.  And let me tell you firsthand that ice can quickly place things out of your control on a roadway.  So what am I getting at then?  Simply this: don’t think that you have a blanket excuse to worry about today any more than you do to worry about tomorrow.  Worry doesn’t give you anything except elevated blood pressure and a queasy stomach.  Turn your worries over to God and let Him take care of things.  He is much better at it than you or me.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in more than bread devotional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

