More Than Bread Devotional 9/9/08

John 4:25-26
25 The woman said, “I know that Messiah” (called Christ) “is coming. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.”
26 Then Jesus declared, “I who speak to you am he.”

Do you sometimes find yourself wishing that God would just speak plainly to you?  I don’t know about you, but there are times I feel like I am just not getting it clearly enough.  But I have realized something.  When God wants us to know something, He is perfectly capable of saying it plainly to us so we can understand.  When this woman asked her question, Jesus didn’t launch into a parable or give an odd answer.  He just told her, “that’s me”!  I am of course paraphrasing here.  And when you think about it, even the parables were understood more than we think.  After all, the Pharisees were often ready to kill Jesus after He told more than one of them, because they knew exactly what He was trying to say.  I am not trying to tell you that if you feel like you don’t understand what God is saying it’s your fault.  I am trying to encourage you that if God wants you to know something, He knows how to say it in such a way that you can’t miss it.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

