More Than Bread Devotional for 8/19/08

Psalm 18:1-3
1 I love you, O LORD, my strength.
2 The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
3 I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise,
and I am saved from my enemies.

The last few weeks, I have learned a few things about strength and refuge.  These verses are so comforting to know and live.  God is stronger than anything that we can face in this life or the next.  This idea of God as a fortress and a refuge reminds us that we can run to Him at any time for anything and He can protect us from it all.  This doesn’t mean that bad things will never happen to us.  Jesus promised that we would have trouble.  But it does mean that we have a place to hold on to in any storm or trial.

P.S.  Thanks again for all of your prayers for me.  I am not completely better yet, but I am at a point that my fever is gone and I don’t have to take stuff to keep it down.  They are still running tests on me, and I don’t know what the final outcome is yet, but it’s OK.  God is in control and I trust in Him to bring me through it all.

About jeofurry

Husband, father, pastor, musician and who knows what else. Just living to love the Lord will all my heart, soul and might.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

